top of page

Entry #2

Updated: Oct 5, 2018

Trying to connect my research project with my current JPL project I realized that there's always an easier way to do something. In terms of my project, Eli Whitman invented something to make the processing of cotton less burdensome. This correlates to our project. Originally the idea was to use a motor to lift the pipe. However, we are realizing that this would be incredibly hard to program, and the motor might not be strong enough. The easier way to do it would be with springs and pulleys. Using physics instead of mechanics will be much easier.


The new idea is very promising. However, there is little to do until the base can be made. This is taking longer than I think some of us expected and until then we can't really test the idea. This could prove troublesome as there could be potential flaws in our design we don't know about.


There are no large problems I anticipate are coming up. However, finding the right spring to pull on the arm might be difficult. If that idea doesn't work, I've thought of a backup plan. It would work similar to the strings and pulleys, but using a counterweight. Like a trebuchet, the counterweight would pull up the arm once released.


Other stuff going on in my life: I've decided that West Point is my first choice school. Unfortunately this means I cant't apply early decision to a reach school like Brown or North-Western. However I still intend on apply early application to Yale. Anyways, West Point has a great engineering program as well as numerous opportunities you couldn't find at other schools (like becoming airborne certified or training with French Commandos).

12 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Entry #7

Unfortunately I didn't receive an appointment to West Point this year, so my backup plan is to join ROTC at UC Davis for a year and re-apply. Ultimately, I'm excited to experience a year of actual col

Entry #6

We have made good progress is mapping out our plan to build a prototype. Our biggest challenge so far has been figuring out a way we can measure either Limb Occlusion Pressure (LOP) or Arterial Occlus

Entry #5

This senior year I'm very excited to be working on the end of the year project. I think that my group has come up with an invention that can have a large impact in the lives the servicemen and women w

bottom of page